F1 And MotoGP News: Your Formula 1 And MotoGP News SourceMake Sure To Check The Latest F1 And MotoGP News Here!

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Aprilia Announces 2016 MotoGP Return

At the 2013 EICMA exhibition in Milan, Italian motorcycle company Aprilia has announced that it will return to MotoGP in 2016. The Piaggio-owned marque withdrew from the sport in 2004 due to financial reasons, but came back last year offering its modified RSV4 machinery to a number of CRT teams.

"In 2016 Aprilia will return to MotoGP to win and match the success it had in Superbikes, Piaggio Chairman
Roberto Colaninno said. "We've got two years of work ahead of us for the technological development."

While its last season in MotoGP yielded little success, the Noale-based company has gone on to enjoy huge success in the World Superbike class, winning the 2009, 2011 and the 2013 Manufacturers titles. The 2014 WSBK season will see former MotoGP riders Marco Melandri and Sylvain Guintoli race for Aprilia, with the Italian already being rumoured to rejoin the premier class in 2016 with his new team.

Aprilia's comeback means MotoGP could potentially boast five factory teams in 2016, with Suzuki having confirmed to join Yamaha, Ducati and Honda on the grid in 2015.


2020 F1 Championship Standings

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes0
2Valtteri BottasMercedes0
3Charles LeclercFerrari0
4Sebastian VettelFerrari0
5Max VerstappenRed Bull0
6Alexander AlbonRed Bull0
7Carlos SainzMcLaren0
8Lando NorrisMcLaren0
9Daniel RicciardoRenault0
10Esteban OconRenault0
11Pierre GaslyAlpha Tauri0
12Daniil KvyatAlpha Tauri0
13Sergio PerezRacing Point0
14Lance StrollRacing Point0
15Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo0
16Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo0
17Kevin MagnussenHaas F10
18Romain GrosjeanHaas F10
19George RussellWilliams0
20Nicholas LatifiWilliams0
1Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport0
2Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow0
3Aston Martin Red Bull Racing0
4McLaren F1 Team0
5Renault F1 Team0
6Scuderia Alpha Tauri Honda0
7SportPesa Racing Point F1 Team0
8Alfa Romeo Racing0
9Haas F1 Team0
10ROKiT Williams Racing0

2020 MotoGP Championship Standings

1Marc MarquezRepsol Honda0
2Alex MarquezRepsol Honda0
3Andrea DoviziosoDucati Team0
4Danilo PetrucciDucati Team0
5Maverick ViñalesMonster Energy Yamaha0
6Valentino RossiMonster Energy Yamaha0
7Fabio QuartararoPetronas Yamaha0
8Franco MorbidelliPetronas Yamaha0
9Alex RinsSuzuki Ecstar0
10Joan MirSuzuki Ecstar0
11Jack MillerPramac Racing0
12Francesco BagnaiaPramac Racing0
13Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda Castrol0
14Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda Idemitsu0
15Pol EspargaroRed Bull KTM0
16Brad BinderRed Bull KTM0
17Aleix EspargaroAprilia Gresini0
18Andrea IannoneAprilia Gresini0
19Miguel OliveiraKTM Tech 30
20Iker LecuonaKTM Tech 30
21Tito RabatReale Avintia0
22Johann ZarcoReale Avintia0
1Repsol Honda Team0
2Ducati Team0
3Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP0
4Petronas Yamaha Sepang Racing Team0
5Team Suzuki Ecstar0
6Pramac Racing0
7LCR Honda MotoGP0
8Red Bull KTM Factory Racing0
9Aprilia Racing Team Gresini0
10Red Bull KTM Tech 30
11Reale Avintia Racing0