F1 And MotoGP News: Your Formula 1 And MotoGP News SourceMake Sure To Check The Latest F1 And MotoGP News And Videos Here!And Follow RD#8 On Twitter To Receive The Latest F1 And MotoGP Tweets

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

The Fastest Pit Stop At The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (VIDEO)

DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award 2016: Abu Dhabi - Red Bull Racing claimed the DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award at the 2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix to round off an eventful year. Max Verstappen's mechanics changed all of his four wheels in an amazing 2.11 seconds. Williams Martini Racing reigns supreme overall, however, in this awards category. The Grove-based outfit has won a remarkable 14 times in 21 races this season. Red Bull Racing drew level with Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 (three fastest stops each) thanks to achieving the fastest pit stop of the season finale, so there’s a tie for second place in the overall standings. Apart from the three teams already mentioned, only Renault Sport F1 have previously been able to achieve at least one fastest tyre change at the Grand Prix in Brazil. Sahara Force India took second and third place in Abu Dhabi with the shortest pit stops for Sergio Perez and Nico Hülkenberg taking 2.23 and 2.27 seconds respectively. An unusually high number of tyre changes, 62 in all, were carried out during the rain-hit race in Brazil which was red-flagged twice, but in Abu Dhabi, drivers came in only 38 times for fresh boots. More than half of the stops (21) lasted less than three seconds – a strong result overall and evidence of the great work being done by teams.

2017 F1 Championship Standings (as of 16-4)

1Sebastian VettelFerrari68
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes61
3Valtteri BottasMercedes38
4Kimi RäikkönenFerrari34
5Max VerstappenRed Bull25
6Daniel RicciardoRed Bull22
7Felipe MassaWilliams16
8Sergio PerezForce India14
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso10
10Romain GrosjeanHaas F14
11Kevin MagnussenHaas F14
12Esteban OconForce India3
13Nico HülkenbergRenault2
14Daniil KvyatToro Rosso2
15Pascal WehrleinSauber0
16Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
17Jolyon PalmerRenault0
18Marcus EricssonSauber0
19Fernando AlonsoMcLaren-Honda0
20Lance StrollWilliams0
21Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren-Honda0
1Scuderia Ferrari102
2Mercedes AMG Petronas99
3Red Bull Racing47
4Sahara Force India17
5Williams Martini Racing16
6Scuderia Toro Rosso12
7Haas F1 Team8
8Renault Sport F1 Team2
10Sauber F1 Team0

2017 MotoGP Championship Standings (as of 23-4)

1Valentino RossiMovistar Yamaha56
2Maverick ViñalesMovistar Yamaha50
3Marc MarquezRepsol Honda38
4Andrea DoviziosoDucati Team30
5Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda29
6Dani PedrosaRepsol Honda27
7Johann ZarcoYamaha Tech 322
8Jonas FolgerYamaha Tech 321
9Scott ReddingPramac Racing21
10Jack MillerEG 0,0 Marc VDS21
11Danilo PetrucciPramac Racing17
12Alvaro BautistaPull&Bear Aspar14
13Jorge LorenzoDucati Team12
14Aleix EspargaroAprilia Gresini10
15Andrea IannoneSuzuki Ecstar9
16Loris BazReale Avintia9
17Karel AbrahamPull&Bear Aspar8
18Tito RabatEG 0,0 Marc VDS8
19Hector BarberaReale Avintia8
20Alex RinsSuzuki Ecstar7
21Pol EspargaroRed Bull KTM2
22Bradley SmithRed Bull KTM1
23Sam LowesAprilia Gresini0
1Movistar Yamaha MotoGP106
2Repsol Honda Team65
3Monster Yamaha Tech 343
4Ducati Team42
5Octo Pramac Racing38
6LCR Honda MotoGP29
7Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS29
8Pull&Bear Aspar Team22
9Reale Avintia Racing17
10Team Suzuki Ecstar16
11Aprilia Racing Team Gresini10
12Red Bull KTM Factory Racing3